Seals and Trumpets

[Click on the title to open an article]
  1. John Came to be in the Spirit - {PDF Copy} - (Four different times, John found himself “in the Spirit” and transported to a new location where he received another vision)
  2. An Absent Church? - {PDF Copy} - (In its entirety, Revelation is a message for, to, and about the church, the people of God, and concerns its situation on the earth – Revelation 4:1-3)
  3. The Throne and the Cosmos - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 4:1-11 - The image of the glorious Throne places God and His rule at the center of the created order and prepares the reader for the introduction of the Lamb )
  4. The Scroll Sealed with Seven Seals - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 5:1-4 - The One Sitting on the Throne holds a Scroll sealed tight by seven seals. A search is made for someone in the Creation who is “worthy” to open the Sealed Scroll)
  5. Worthy is the Lamb to Open the Scroll - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 5:5-14 - The central figure of the book is the slain Lamb who alone is worthy to open the Sealed Scroll)
  6. Unsealing Daniel - {PDF Copy} - (Daniel was commanded to “seal the scroll,” whereas, in Revelation, John was commanded NOT to seal the scroll)
  7. Seven Seals - Overview - {PDF Copy} - (Upon his arrival before the Throne, the Lamb commences immediately to open the Seven Seals of the Sealed Scroll)
  8. The First Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:1-2The Lamb now breaks open the first seal, releasing a rider carrying a bow and riding a white horse)
  9. The Second Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:3-4The second rider is on a fiery-red horse sent to “remove peace from the earth” by causing men to “slay one another”)
  10. The Third Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:5-6The third seal releases a rider on a black horse. A voice from the Throne prohibits him from destroying what is needed for daily life)
  11. The Fourth Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:7-8The fourth seal releases a rider named “Death” who is followed by “Hades” gathering up the dead in his wake)
  12. The First Four Seals - The Aftermath - {PDF Copy} - (The first four seal openings occurred under the watchful eye of the “Lamb” and the “four living creatures” around the “throne” – Revelation 6:8)
  13. The Fifth Seal - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:9-11 - The fifth seal reveals the souls of martyrs underneath an altar from which they cry out for vindication and justice)
  14. The Sixth Seal  - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 6:12-17 - The sixth seal ushers in the Day of the Lord, the time of wrath)
  15. The Great Earthquake - {PDF Copy} - (The final day of wrath is characterized by unprecedented celestial and terrestrial events, including the “great earthquake”  Revelation 6:12-17)
  16. Sealing the Saints - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 7:1-3God’s servants are sealed before the “four winds of the earth” are unleashed by the four horsemen)
  17. Numbering the Saints - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 7:4-8144,000 males from the tribes of Israel are numbered and assembled for transit to the Promised Land)
  18. The Innumerable Saints  - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 7:9-12 - John now sees an innumerable multitude from all nations standing before the Lamb and the Throne)
  19. Standing Before The Lamb - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 7:13-17One of the twenty-four “elders” interpreted the vision of the innumerable multitude standing before the Throne)
  20. Seventh Seal - Silence - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:1-6 - The seventh seal forms a transition to the next series, the seven trumpets)
  1. Sounding the Seven Trumpets - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:7-11:19An overview of the Seven Trumpets and the several intervening events)
  2. First Trumpet - Hail - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:7The first trumpet unleashes a plague based on the seventh plague of Egypt, but with modifications)
  3. Second Trumpet - Burning Mountain - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:8-9The second trumpet harms much of the commerce on which Babylon and the “inhabitants of the earth” depend)
  4. Third Trumpet - Bitter Waters - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:10-11The third trumpet produces a “great star” that falls onto the sources of freshwater, embittering them)
  5. Fourth Trumpet - Darkness - - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:12 - The fourth trumpet causes a partial darkening of the sun, moon, and the stars)
  6. The Three Woes - {PDF Copy} - (An eagle "flying in mid-heaven" announces the last three trumpets, the "three woes" – Revelation 8:13)
  7. Fifth Trumpet, First Woe - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 8:13-9:12 - Three “woes” are proclaimed that correspond to the last three trumpets)
  8. Sixth Trumpet, Second Woe - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 9:13-21 - The sixth trumpet is related to the sixth bowl of wrath; both release creatures from beyond the Euphrates)
  9. The Little Scroll - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 10:1-11 - The sixth trumpet did not produce repentance by the “inhabitants of the earth. Something else is needed to complete “the mystery of God")
  10. Sanctuary Measured - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 11:1-2 - The sanctuary must be “measured” before the city can be inhabited, but first, it must be “trampled underfoot”)
  11. Forty-Two Months - 1,260-Days - {PDF Copy} - (The “forty-two months” and “1,260-days” both refer to the same period when the saints are persecuted)
  12. Two Witnesses Testify - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 11:3-7 - The Two Witnesses conduct their prophetic witness until they are slain by the Beast)
  13. The Abyss - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 11:7 - The Abyss is the source of satanic attacks against the people of God, yet it is under the authority of the Lamb)
  14. The Two Witnesses Slain - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 11:8-14 - Hated by the impenitent, the “inhabitants of the earth” rejoice over the deaths of the two witnesses)
  15. The Seventh Trumpet or the Third Woe - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 11:15-19 - The Seventh Trumpet blast ushers in the Day of the Lord, the time of final judgment)
  16. The Beast from the Abyss - {PDF Copy} - (Revelation 11:7 - The first appearance of the “beast” is at its ascent from the “Abyss” to wage “war” against the “two witnesses”)
  17. Tale of Two Cities - {PDF Copy} - (An underlying theme in Revelation is the contrast and conflict between two “cities,” New Jerusalem and Babylon)
Photo by Roan Lavery on Unsplash
Djupalonssandur Beach, Iceland, by Roan Lavery on Unsplash


Redemption of the Nations

Mouth Speaking Great Things